That “Sassy” Photo

Those of you from My Archives might remember that several years ago I worked many hours to create a decent copy of one small picture from the magazine Sassy.  I didn’t succeed very well, because the picture in the magazine was small and poorly printed.  (Some of you might have it on your computers but I doubt that many copied it.)  I think that the picture was of more interest to me than to My Archive members.  I thought that I looked “cute” in it.  Anyway, I cursed Sassy magazine editors for their failure to produce a good copy of this picture.

Photo that appeared in Sassy.  A copy that I worked on for many hours.

Photo that appeared in Sassy. A copy that I worked on for many hours.

 

I now have a copy of the original Ron Vogel photo, and it is Ron that I should have cursed.  He overexposed this picture, but it was “cute” and Sassy ran it along with several “sexy” photos.   Ron took six similar photos, all overexposed.  Furthermore, the peignoir I was wearing was very sheer (the same one that was on the cover of Figure Annual) and very short, and I was not wearing panties under it.  In a couple of these overexposed photos, Ron failed to adequately cover my pubic area.  In the one that was published, there were dark shadows that cast a doubt about what was being exposed and what was being hidden by the sheer peignoir.   Anyway, after many more hours of work, I have produced a better copy of this photo for my personal photo album.

Sassy picture copied from an original source.  Overexposed photo took many hours to reproduce.

Sassy picture copied from an original source. Overexposed photo took many hours to reproduce.

Now I am going to start working on one that definitely shows that Ron failed to adequately cover my pubic area when he took these photos.  It takes so long to adequately clean up these overexposed photos that I will probably only reproduce two for my personal photo album.  (When I say that he failed to cover up my pubic area, you must remember that this was 1962 and nothing could even be hinted at.  My pubic area is not on full display in any of these photos, unlike magazine photos taken a decade later.  But in a couple of this set, there is a hint that my pubic area was not adequately covered.)

 

 

2 thoughts on “That “Sassy” Photo

  1. Are you going to offer any of the finished photos for sale later? I have an interest if you do. Don

    In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, Stand like a rock… -Thomas Jefferson

    Date: Wed, 2 Apr 2014 13:26:48 +0000 To: thedon1940@hotmail.com

  2. I don’t know if I’ll offer them on eBay because things aren’t selling very well any more on eBay and it costs me about $6 per photo to print and get them to my friend in the US. However, you can always contact me a shannonmoeser@gmail.com. I’m still not completely happy with the printed photo of the one above. It’s very difficult to get a good copy from an overexposed print. When I am happy with it, I will sell copies, probably from here because I don’t think many will be interested in purchasing it on eBay. Judging by the time it has taken me to get this one done, it will probably be another month before I get the second one done. Send me an email if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

