Yes or No?

Elmer Batters took the photo below at the same time as he took the set of “Donna Cole” photos that he published in Tip Top.  That set was in a feature entitled Rolled Pose on a Table Top.  This photo was NOT included in the feature.  In fact, it was never published anywhere.

In that same Tip Top, there is a feature entitled “How (and how not) to shoot a pair of legs.”  One thing mentioned in this article is that it is a mistake for a dedicated leg man to have the model bend her legs under her posterior so that the knees appear to be amputation stumps, and is recommended only when a model has an attractive face and torso but legs which don’t measure up to the same standards.

Of course, Batters sometimes had me bend my legs under my posterior so he could emphasize my breasts, but he never mentions that a model may have both good legs and good breasts.

The Donna Cole series of photos did emphasize my legs, and also made me appear to be very sultry and “worn-out.”  The one below, taken at the same time, shows that I was just having fun, so I guess Elmer, or his editor, decided that it didn’t fit in with the rest of the photos and thus was never published.

Frankly, I think that this photo complements the ones published under the “Donna Cole” name, showing my many moods — while posing on (or with) a table top.  What do you think?  Pick “yes” it is just another facet of Donna Cole, or “no” I don’t like it (or “Maybe I like it but it definitely doesn’t go with the Donna Cole set.”)

Gloria Dawn by Elmer Batters.  Unpublished photo.

Gloria Dawn by Elmer Batters. Unpublished photo.

9 thoughts on “Yes or No?

  1. I vote yes, I like a mix of the playful and serious poses. I’m curious why Elmer wanted to emphasize your boobs. You are naturally busty so it doesn’t seem necessary. You are also beautiful from head to toe, love the short hair. Pretty face, nice boobs, sexy legs, lovely backside, even pretty feet. You should have never been enhanced or covered up, just my opinion. Thanks!

  2. Re: onmemories on April 2, 2014 at 3:04 pm said: I don’t know if I’ll offer them on eBay because things aren’t selling very well any more on eBay and it costs me about $6 per photo to print and get them to my friend in the US. However, you can always contact me a shannonmoeser@gmail.com. I’m still not completely happy with the printed photo of the one above. It’s very difficult to get a good copy from an overexposed print. When I am happy with it, I will sell copies, probably from here because I don’t think many will be interested in purchasing it on eBay. Judging by the time it has taken me to get this one done, it will probably be another month before I get the second one done. Send me an email if you are interested. Did you ever get a decent copy that you would consider selling? I am interested. Don

    In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, Stand like a rock… -Thomas Jefferson

    Date: Tue, 23 Sep 2014 04:12:15 +0000 To: thedon1940@hotmail.com

  3. Thedon: I’m still not happy with the one you are referring to — the one in the short peignoir that Ron Vogel overexposed. I stopped working with it some time ago because I found that I was able to get good copies of other photos that I liked, such as the one above taken by Elmer Batters, and not be frustrated as I was working on that short peignoir photo. I probably will go back to working on the overexposed Ron Vogel photo some time later, when I’ve finished with others that I like. I have quite a few that I’m working on. (I tend to work on two or three simultaneously.) Meanwhile, the photo above (by Elmer Batters) is for sale.

      • Correct. It is the Batters photo with my legs under me that is for sale. The Batters photo took a long time to get looking correct also. But after spending that time, it came out looking very nice. I spent a long time on the short peignoir one, and after spending all that time I’m still not satisfied.

Leave a Reply

